Onventis Interview with Amazon Business

Interview with Amazon Business Country Manager DACH/CEE Region Florian Böhme

22nd October 2020 | News

Amazon Business is the marketplace for corporate customers of the world’s leading online retailer Amazon.com. In an interview, Country Manager Amazon Business DACH-/CEE-Region Florian Böhme explains how Amazon Business has come through the Corona crisis, how digitization is progressing in medium-sized businesses and which developments Amazon Business is aiming for in the near future.

Florian, what is your biggest challenge in terms of digitization?

Always new ones: Together with our customers, we regularly tackle the challenges of digitizing purchasing – with lots of ideas, fun and impressive results.

One topic currently dominates purchasing: COVID-19. What impact is the corona crisis having on Amazon Business?

This year certainly did not go as we all expected. Nevertheless, we are proud of the work we did together with our customers this year.
We have been able to help educational, health and local governments and other organizations to provide their facilities with what they desperately needed in these difficult times. Many hospitals, doctors’ offices or pharmacies have been under pressure in recent months and have had to deal with delivery problems.
The reason: the demand for critical goods increased rapidly and lead times were no longer days but weeks. We used our expertise and connections with thousands of manufacturers and suppliers around the world to source and deliver urgently needed materials.

Onventis was the first e-procurement provider in Germany to integrate Amazon Business into structured purchasing processes. What has changed since then and how is your business model generally accepted by German SMEs?

In the meantime, there are many customers from a wide range of industries who work successfully with us. Meanwhile 23 of the DAX30 companies use Amazon Business. A great many SMEs also manage their tail spend or MRO goods through us. Some are taking their first digital steps with us in terms of procurement. At the same time, we are observing a continuing increase in interest in integrated, digital procurement solutions such as Onventis, especially among small and medium-sized companies. That feels great and we look forward to working with our partners to help many more companies make their procurement more digital.

What exciting developments for corporate purchasing will Amazon Business have to offer in the near future?

We are always thinking of the customer and want to support them in digitizing their procurement and managing the tail spend. In addition, we are constantly working to improve our service. We will continue to do so in the coming months and years.

Florian, thank you very much for the interview.

Florian Böhme
Country Manager Amazon Business DACH-/CEE-Region
Amazon Business

Related Posts

Onventis Interview mit Amazon Business

Amazon Business Country Manager DACH-/CEE-Region Florian Böhme im Interview

22. Oktober 2020 | News

Wie Amazon Business die Digitalisierung auch in Krisenzeiten vorantreibt

Amazon Business ist der Marktplatz für Unternehmenskunden des weltweit führenden Online-Händlers Amazon.com. Im Gespräch erklärt Country Manager Amazon Business DACH-/CEE-Region Florian Böhme, wie Amazon Business durch die Corona-Krise gekommen ist, wie die Digitalisierung im Mittelstand voranschreitet und welche Entwicklungen Amazon Business in nächster Zeit anstrebt.

Florian, was ist eure größte Challenge in Sachen Digitalisierung?

Immer wieder neue: Gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden gehen wir regelmäßig die Herausforderungen an, die die Digitalisierung des Einkaufs mit sich bringt – und das mit vielen Ideen, Spaß und beeindruckenden Ergebnissen.

Aktuell dominiert ein Thema den Einkauf: COVID-19. Welche Auswirkungen hat die Corona-Krise auf Amazon Business?

Dieses Jahr verlief sicher nicht so, wie wir alle es erwartet haben. Trotzdem sind wir stolz auf die Arbeit, die wir in diesem Jahr gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden geleistet haben.
Wir konnten Bildungs-, Gesundheits- und Kommunalverwaltungen sowie andere Organisationen dabei unterstützen, ihre Einrichtungen mit dem zu versorgen, was sie in dieser schwierigen Zeit dringend gebraucht haben. Viele Krankenhäuser, Arztpraxen oder Apotheken standen in den vergangenen Monaten unter Druck und hatte mit Lieferproblemen zu kämpfen.
Der Grund: Die Nachfrage nach kritischen Gütern stieg rasant an und bei den Vorlaufzeiten ging es nicht mehr um Tage, sondern um Wochen. Wir haben unser Fachwissen und unsere Verbindungen zu Tausenden Herstellern und Lieferanten auf der ganzen Welt eingesetzt, um dringend benötigtes Material zu beschaffen und zu liefern.

Onventis war der erste E-Procurement Anbieter in Deutschland, der Amazon Business in strukturierte Einkaufsprozesse integrierte. Was hat sich seither verändert und wie wird euer Geschäftsmodell allgemein vom deutschen Mittelstand angenommen?

Inzwischen gibt es viele Kunden aus den verschiedensten Industrien, die erfolgreich mit uns arbeiten. Mittlerweile nutzen 23 der DAX30 Konzerne Amazon Business. Auch sehr viele KMUs managen ihren Tail Spend oder ihre MRO-Güter über uns. Einige machen mit uns ihre ersten digitalen Schritte, was die Beschaffung angeht. Gleichzeitig beobachten wir insbesondere im Mittelstand ein weiterhin steigendes Interesse an ganzheitlichen, digitalen Beschaffungslösungen wie Onventis. Das fühlt sich toll an und wir freuen uns darauf, noch viele weitere Unternehmen gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern dabei zu unterstützen, ihr Procurement digitaler zu gestalten.

Welche spannenden Entwicklungen für den Einkauf in Unternehmen wird es in nächster Zeit von Amazon Business geben?

Wir denken immer vom Kunden aus und wollen ihn bei der Digitalisierung seiner Beschaffung und dem Management des Tail Spend unterstützen. Darüber hinaus arbeiten wir kontinuierlich daran, unseren Service zu verbessern. Das werden wir auch in den kommenden Monaten und Jahren tun.

Florian, vielen Dank für das Gespräch.

Florian Böhme
Country Manager Amazon Business DACH-/CEE-Region
Amazon Business

Verwandte Beiträge